Thoughtless Ramblings

Thoughts on "Getting Good"

This is a spin-off from my discussion of video game difficulty, find that post soon

I have a love-hate relationship with the phrase "Get Good". Often the refrain of gamers online when faced with stories of those struggling, has taken a life of its own with its influence.

On one hand, it's fully dismissive, sending away any criticism of a game without engaging with the central issues. Games can't be fun if they're inaccessible, if you exclude 99% of your audience, who is left to play the game? Also, whenever someone is having trouble with a game or level, there is a learning opportunity. Working together to overcome. Dismissing challenges with "get good" ignores both these discussions. There has to be a balance in the challenge, how far can you push before you alienate your core audience or leave some players behind?

On the other though, it hints at one of the most rewarding aspects of playing games. The thrills of overcoming what seem like impossible odds is its own powerful reward, in fact, giving players a sense of pride and accomplishment isn't always bad. Challenges force us to grow as people, be it in the real or virtual world. Many games wouldn't be fun if we didn't overcome challenges. As mentioned above, challenge can be a great way of building a community, and sharing tips and knowledge on how to overcome the challenges.

My own life

For a long time, I subscribed to the notion that to be a "real gamer" I had to play hard games and the like (see Dark Souls). As I grew older I came to a different understanding of myself and the games I play. I learned to lean into the easy games; I play games for myself, not other people, so why do I hold myself to other's standards. That led me to enjoy the things I do and the games I play more, whether it's playing on "Easy" or picking up a slower game from time to time.

The Unavoidable Ableism

Thus far absent from this discussion, but undeniably a factor is ableism. I'm not the person who gets to talk about this, but the idea that someone should just "get good" assumes a lot about that person's circumstances. We live in a world which - one way or another - isn't built for us, adding an additional hurdle in the name of some feeling of superiority is no way to live.

And I am happier for it.

Conclusion(?)

We should be more careful saying "Get Good", but also not dismiss the notion out of hand. While dismissive, it contains a powerful truth within, but we must be careful not to use it in ways that alienate and exclude others.

#gaming #thoughts